NHS Tayside STARs celebrated

MAIN NHS Tayside STARs celebrated

The winners of NHS Tayside’s Staff Appreciation and Recognition (STAR) Awards were announced last week at a celebration event held at the Apex Hotel in Dundee.

The awards have been running for three years and offer staff and the public a chance to nominate an individual, service or team in one of six categories for delivering outstanding patient care or going the extra mile in their job. This year two new categories were added – the Chairman’s Award and the Global Citizenship Award.

The ceremony was hosted by Professor Jason Leitch, National Clinical Director, Healthcare Quality and Strategy Directorate with the Scottish Government.

Chairman John Brown said, “It has been fantastic to see the hard work and dedication of NHS Tayside staff recognised at this event. It is a great honour to be nominated by colleagues and members of the public and I would like to congratulate everyone who won an award, all of our finalists and nominees.”

Chief Executive Grant Archibald said, “The people of Tayside have really supported these awards by nominating individuals, teams and services in their hundreds and this reflects the high regard our committed staff are held in by local communities.

“We know that being recognised in these awards is very much appreciated by staff and I would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate. I would like to offer my congratulations to the finalists you should all feel very proud of yourselves indeed.”

The STAR Awards were delivered in partnership with Tayside Health Fund and the Apex Hotel.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The winners are:

Inspiring Educator

Gold: Michael Carlin, Speech & Language Clinical Support Worker, Centre for Child Health

Silver: Nicola Richardson, Allied Health Professions Practice Educator and Teaching Lead

Bronze: Fiona Reid, Macmillan Specialist Physiotherapist, Cornhill Macmillan Centre, PRI

Quality/Service Improvement

Gold: Amanda Kean, Senior Charge Midwife, Ward 38, Ninewells Hospital

Silver: UNITE Team (NICU/Ward 38/Labour Suite) Ninewells Hospital

Bronze: Dr Scott Jamieson, GP Prescribing Lead, Angus Health and Social Care Partnership

Innovation in Practice

Gold: Intelligent Liver Function Testing Team

Silver: Dr Elizabeth Connor, Consultant Dental & Maxillofacial Radiologist, Dundee Dental Hospital

Bronze: AIM – Anxiety in Motion, Centre for Child Health

Global Citizenship Award

Gold: Jean Ngoie, Head of Instrumentation and Clinical Engineering, Medical Physics, Ninewells Hospital

Silver: Pam Wilson, Senior Charge Nurse, Out Of Hours Service

Bronze: Gwen Gordon, Clinical Educator, Nursing Education

Outstanding Individual (Clinical)

Gold: Alexis Brain, Senior Charge Nurse, Ward 1, PRI

Silver: Michael Carlin, Speech & Language Clinical Support Worker, Centre for Child Health

Bronze: Lynn Sutherland, Occupational Therapist/Complementary Therapy Coordinator, Roxburghe House, Royal Victoria Hospital

Outstanding Individual (Non-Clinical)

Gold: Fiona McGrath, Health Services Link Worker, The Corner

Silver: Wayne Brown, Site Manager, Ninewells Hospital

Bronze: Maureen Forsyth, Ward Assistant, Ward 3, PRI

Outstanding Team

Gold: Gynaecology Team, PRI

Silver: Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Ninewells Hospital

Bronze: Glenlaw House, Kings Cross

Chairman’s Award

Communications and Engagement Team

Leave a Reply