STAR Awards 2019 finalists


Star Awards 2019.jpgHere are the finalists in the NHS Tayside Staff Appreciation and Recognition (STAR) Awards. We received an amazing 752 nominations!

Congratulations to everyone who was nominated.

The awards offered staff and the public a chance to nominate an individual, service or team in one of six categories for delivering outstanding patient care or going the extra mile in their job.

A multidisciplinary shortlisting panel had the difficult task of choosing just six finalists in each of the six categories. The standard of nominations was again and after much deliberation by the panel we have our 36 finalists.

All finalists will be invited to the Star Awards Ceremony in May where gold silver and bronze awards for each category will be announced.

Well done everyone and here are our STAR Awards 2019 finalists…

Outstanding Individual (Clinical)

  • Alexis Brain – Senior Charge Nurse, Ward 1 PRI
  • Michael Carlin – Speech and Language Clinical Support Worker, Centre for Child Health
  • Nicola McKee – Senior Charge Nurse, Ward 22, Renal Services, Ninewells
  • Vera Stewart – Health Care Assistant, Ward 9, Ninewells
  • Lynn Sutherland – Occupational therapist/Complementary Therapy Coordinator, Roxburghe House, RVH
  • Rhona Weir – Health Care Assistant, Ward 38, Ninewells

Outstanding Individual (Non-Clinical)

  • Wayne Brown – Site Manager, Ninewells
  • Lesley Fairfield – Domestic Assistant, Ward 7, RVH
  • Maureen Forsyth – Ward Assistant, Ward 3, PRI
  • Fiona McGrath – Health Services Link Worker, The Corner
  • Maggie McMillan – Ward Assistant, Ward 6, Ninewells
  • Iona Philp – Macmillan Palliative & End of Life MCN Manager, Ninewells

Outstanding Team

  • Acute Stroke Unit – Ward 33, Ninewells
  • Glenlaw House – Kings Cross
  • Gynaecology Team –  PRI
  • Neonatal Unit – Ninewells
  • Renal Dialysis Unit – PRI
  • Ward 10 – Ninewells

Inspiring Educator

  • Michael Carlin – Speech and Language Clinical Support Worker, Centre for Child Health
  • Laura McEwan – Charge Nurse, Ward 23a, Ninewells
  • Angela McGregor – Staff Nurse, Ward 1, Perth Royal Infirmary
  • Fiona Reid – Physiotherapist, Cornhill Macmillan Centre, PRI
  • Nicola Richardson – Allied Health Professions Practice Education and Teaching Lead, Kings Cross
  • Louise Roberts – Advanced Nurse Practitioner, Ward 7, Ninewells

Quality/Service Improvement

  • Dr Louise Beveridge – Consultant Medicine for the Elderly, PRI
  • Endoscopy Department – Ninewells
  • Deep Vein Thrombosis Clinic – Clinical Investigations Unit, Ninewells
  • Amanda Kean – Senior Charge Midwife, Ward 38, Ninewells
  • Dr Scott Jamieson – GP Prescribing Lead, Angus Health and Social Care Partnership
  • Unite Team – NICU/Ward38/Labour Suite, Ninewells

Innovation in Practice

  • AIM Anxiety in Motion – CAHMS MacX/Dundee Education Department, Centre for Child Health
  • Dr Elizabeth Connor – Consultant Dental & Maxillofacial Radiologist, Dundee Dental Hospital
  • Emergency Department Redesign Team – Ninewells
  • Intelligent Liver Function Testing Team – Ninewells
  • NHS Tayside Clinical Photography Department – Dundee Dental Hospital, Ninewells and PRI
  • Medical Device Carrier Unit for internal trauma patient transport – Medical Physics Dept, Ninewells


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: