Tayside team wins national mental health nursing award

MAIN Tayside team wins national mental health nursing award.jpg
l-r MHNFS chair Davy Thomson, action learning set facilitators Jenny MacDonald, Susan Hynes, Wendy Tait, Heather Robb and Jan Laing, and Johnathan MacLennan

A project which supports newly qualified mental health and learning disability nurses in NHS Tayside was recognised with a national award this week.

The team of action learning set facilitators, led by senior nurse practice development Jenny MacDonald, won the Innovations in Education category at the Mental Health Nursing Forum Scotland (MHNFS) Conference and Awards.

NHS Tayside Adult Mental Health Quality Improvement lead Johnathan MacLennan, who is vice chair of MHNFS, said, “NHS Tayside recognises the value of supporting newly qualified practitioners (NQPs) in their transition from students to registrants and through their careers of lifelong learning.

“The action learning set facilitators not only support and enable the voice of NQPs but also provide and give a forum for developing professional excellence.”

Jenny MacDonald added, “On behalf of the action learning set facilitators we are delighted and immensely proud to have won this award.

“Action learning contributes to the professional and educational development of newly qualified nurses and this award recognises our commitment to ensuring our nurses are supported during their early practice to provide excellent patient care.”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: